The Heart of a Missionary-


In the lions’ Den

Posted in Insights,life in the field by misspicture on March 28, 2011

Two years ago I wrote a note on facebook – I deleted all my notes on facebook before coming to the desert- entitled “En La boca del Leon” or In the lions’ den in english.

It was about Daniel when he was thrown with the lions. I remember going through a situation where i felt like Daniel in the lions’ den. It was a faith stretching time and the Lord spoke to me through this passage.

This is what i took to heart: “Then King Darius sent this message to the people of every race and nation and language throughout the world: Peace and prosperity to you! I declare that everyone throughout my kingdom should tremble with fear before the God of Daniel” Daniel 5:25-26a

Daniel came out of that situation. But his testimony and the greatness of God displayed as a result of his faith was enough for those who witnessed this event -specially the one who wanted to kill him in the first place- to not only acknowledge Daniel’s God but to worship Him.

I felt like the Lord wanted me to go through that situation so that people around me could see, integrity, selflessness, righteousness, and irrational hope in a God that is good.

God is faithful.

I made two friends during this miserable time in my life. Non christian friends. One of them accepted Jesus into her heart. And the other one contacted me recently expressing a desire to study the Bible.

God does not put our tears to waste. Today, two years later. I see how God used this time to show them that Jesus is real. They may never look back in time and pinpoint my situation as the time they saw God at work. And that’s ok.

I am thankful i was counted  worthy to follow Christ in His suffering.
I am thankful that His promises are true.

Whatever you are going through right now. Whatever your lion looks like. Remember. God is with you. And He is at work.

Hang on.

 

Leave a Reply

