The Heart of a Missionary-


Christmas a la Venezolana…

Posted in life in the field by misspicture on December 22, 2010

Here in the desert we are getting ready to have a Venezuelan feast for christmas eve. Im not sure if my team will like it.  Pray that they will but i am really excited about it. I went grocery shopping today and i will start cooking tomorrow.

The menu: Hallacas, and Ensalada de pollo

Hallacas are like a mexican tamale. only better. They are square-shaped and they look like a little present wrapped in plantain leaves (or if you live where i live… aluminum foil) When you start eating them you find all kinds of goodies [raisings, olives, onion, and a treasure for those of us who live in muslim countries…. P.O.R.K]

Marcus, if you are reading this. Let.Me.Tell.You. There is no bacon in this country. True Story.

Luckily a friend of mine went to a free country for a few days and she got me some pork. yum! Happy Holidays to me.

Hallacas are one of my favorite things in the whole world.

This is our christmas-chicken salad.

potato, carrots, chicken or hen, petit-points, and a dressing made out of mayo, vinegar, mustard, salt and pepper.

uhm..

I hope this turns out ok. I always help my mom make all these things but i have never actually made them myself.

We shall see.

What are you eating this weekend for christmas?

2 Responses to 'Christmas a la Venezolana…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Christmas a la Venezolana…'.


  1. No way lady. Are you serious, lol! What will you will you do 🙂


  2. […] christmas eve, me and the precious boys on my team, made the Venezuelan christmas dish which we proceeded to eat at about 5:40pm. The hallacas turned out pretty […]


Leave a Reply

