The Heart of a Missionary-


Evolution

Posted in Uncategorized by misspicture on September 14, 2010

Today’s post is going to be short.

I can not understand how someone can call himself a follower of Jesus and not read the Bible. There was a time in my life where i would say i was a christian and i would go to church and serve as a volunteer whenever they needed me. But i had no idea there was such thing as quiet time. I partially blame it on my church. This is not something they teach very often. But It was mostly my fault. Laziness, the “I dont like reading” excuse – which is a lie because i DO like reading- and the “The Bible is boring” excuse – Which is a lie too, by the way-  would always win.

I remember how awkward it was to pray in front of people.
I remember how awkward it was when someone at CRU asked me “So, what has God been teaching you lately?”
I remember not growing spiritually.

I was thinking a few nights ago and started wondering what changed this. When did my relationship with God really started? not that i didnt have one before, i did. But it was never tangible. You know what i mean…?

Remember the pesto guy ? It all started with him. two years ago.

Lets just say it was a platonic love. He was not a christian and was dating his now wife. But it was really hard for me. I really liked him but i knew we could never be together.

It was then when i realized i needed to fill my mind with the word of God.

So i did.

I Joined a Bible study. (After 4-5 years going to CRU! unbelievable i know)
Started reading my Bible consistently
Found Elevation Church and read through the Bible in 90 days.

Then I went to the desert.
And A*, M*, G* and As* changed the way i prayed. They have no idea how much they impacted my life. No idea.

I had no idea God was going to turn my miserable Pablo days into a greater understanding of Him His grace, His love and my need to get quiet. Every day. And seek His face.

oh my gosh.
This is SO not a short post.

Lo siento.

Leave a Reply

