The Heart of a Missionary-


Sunday BONUS: I am Samuel, You are Saul

Posted in BONUS by misspicture on June 13, 2010

Saul was just a handsome young man who was on a mission. He was out looking for some donkeys that were missing. Since he and his servant couldn’t find them they decided to go to The Prophet Samuel’s house to ask him what to do and where to find the donkeys.

What Saul didnt know is that God had already told Samuel that he was going to be Israel’s first king and his visit to the Prophet’s house was not going to end up the way he expected.

This specifically spoke to my heart in a very personal and simple way.

I was driving to church this morning and all of the sudden it started raining. and we, Maracaibo people dont know how to deal with the rain. Everything stops when it rains. We are not used to rain at all. It NEVER rains down here.

But today, it rained. So here i am freaking out in the car. waiting to find a parking spot at chuch and figuring out how fast was I going to run in order to keep my hair dry. In the middle of my thinking i decided to just go somewhere else and spend some quality time with Jesus. Just He and me.

so I did.

And i went to the ONLY park we have in this city. (I was inspired by one of my team mates Nate) and sat down and talked to Jesus for a good hour. And among other things i asked Him to bring in the support i need to go to Africa and a husband.

While reading the way Samuel dealt with Saul i felt God telling me: “I am Samuel, you are Saul”

19 “I am the seer,” Samuel replied. “Go up ahead of me to the high place, for today you are to eat with me, and in the morning I will let you go and will tell you all that is in your heart.As for the donkeys you lost three days ago, do not worry about them; they have been found” 1 Sam 9:19-20

I really think God took care of the donkeys so that Saul’s mind could be focused on what He, through Samuel, was going to tell him that night. What a great God we serve!

“My Child, do not worry about support. I have already raised it. Come dine with me
Do not worry about your future spouse. That’s already taken care of. Come spend time with me
Dont worry about your needs. I have already met them. Let’s be friends
What will you drink or eat? My child, I already know what you need even before you Ask. Just be with me.
Do not worry about the sickness. Do not worry about the job. Do not worry about the children. Do not worry about the wether. Do not worry about your parents. Do not worry about Africa. Do not worry about money. Do not worry about anything. For everything is already taken care of.”

Did you need this today?

I sure did.

It was so refreshing and eye opening! we are so little and our God is so great!

May you be encouraged, today, to focus on Jesus. Enjoy His company, spend time with Him, fall in love with Him and that thing you are worried about…. well, He has already taken care of your situation.

2 Responses to 'Sunday BONUS: I am Samuel, You are Saul'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Sunday BONUS: I am Samuel, You are Saul'.


  1. That’s a real good word. Needed that yo! Thanks 🙂

  2. Jon Mathieu said,

    Great post. It’s very easy to feel distant from Biblical characters. Sometimes it just seems like they lived so long ago, or they’re really wicked, or seem to have superpowers. But God is the same today as when He spoke and dealt with them; so, many of His dealings with people then are extremely relevant to our walks with Him today. This is a sweet example of that — thanks for blogging it! And as a fellow single missionary with an unclear future, it was refreshing to my heart.

    I’ll respond to your fb message, too, when I get a chance. I’m packing to leave for new staff training! Ahhh!


Leave a Reply

