The Heart of a Missionary-


Eli.

Posted in Insights by misspicture on June 11, 2010

Eli was a priest in Israel and he had two wicked sons who were not good stuarts of the offerings people would bring before the LORD. Read 1 Samuel 2:12-34

I really believe Eli was a good man. A “Christian” man [There’s that term again….] I really think He loved the Lord. But He had two wicked sons. Those two were evil and their sin was great in the Lord’s sight (v.17). Eli even went and talked to his sons about this and told them how bad their deeds were.

meh

I dont think that seemed to be enough for God. Look!

among other things God said this (see verses 27-34) “29 Why do you [f] scorn my sacrifice and offering that I prescribed for my dwelling? Why do you honor your sons more than me by fattening yourselves on the choice parts of every offering made by my people Israel?'”

Did i miss something?

He didnt do anything. His sons were the ones misbehaving!

Look what 1 Samuel 3:11-14 says.

1 And the LORD said to Samuel: “See, I am about to do something in Israel that will make the ears of everyone who hears of it tingle. 12 At that time I will carry out against Eli everything I spoke against his family—from beginning to end. 13 For I told him that I would judge his family forever because of the sin he knew about; his sons made themselves contemptible, [b]and he failed to restrain them. 14 Therefore, I swore to the house of Eli, ‘The guilt of Eli’s house will never be atoned for by sacrifice or offering.’ “

He failed to restrain them…

Eli loved the Lord. But he didnt do anything when he saw his own family sining against God. I mean, he did tell them that what they were doing was wrong but they already knew that.

A few things…

1- Parents. Sometimes it takes more than just telling your kids that what they are doing is wrong. Sometimes you just have to discipline them.

2- The rest of us who are not parents yet. We can learn a lot about God by reading the story of Eli. I really see God being a jealous God here. And I also see Him demanding His priest to act like He is The priest of the Lord. You know what i mean?

God has His spirit living IN us. We have authority. Why dont we act on it?

We see this all through out the Bible.

Adam for example…

I see this in my life. I do what’s required or what im “supposed” to do. Instead of stepping up and boldly do whatever God is asking me to do.

May we learn to use our God-given authority to step up and play for ‘Team Jesus ‘, challenge people. call out the sin of those around us, and encourage others to fall in love with Jesus.

And in order to do that action is required. Not just words

Wake up

Stop sleeping and ask God what is it that He is asking you to do/change/give/say ?

and when He tells you (He will) DO IT!

Do not be uncool like Eli.

Please.

Leave a Reply

