The Heart of a Missionary-


Pride Vs. Faith

Posted in Insights by misspicture on June 10, 2010

“Look at the proud!
They trust in themselves, and their lives are crooked.
But the righteous will live by their faithfulness to God” Habakuk 2:4

I understood a few things after reading this.

1- The proud is not righteous

2- The proud is not faithful to God  [or “does not live by faith” ESV and KJV]

Today, while waiting for my second appointment for the day I opened my Bible (while the janitors at Mcdonalds made fun of me…. thank you) on the book of Habakuk 2 and my eyes went straight to verse 4. And I started meditating on it.

A Prideful man: Trusts himself for the results of everything he does. Does not let others help him. Has an excessively high opinion of himself. Thinks he is superior.

Now, I have confessed on this blog several times that i have pride issues Sometimes i take pride in what i do for God. I can be legalistic at times and think im superior than others because of the calling ive received and just because of the things God has taught me or done in my life.

THAT WAS ME BEING TRANSPARENT.- PRAY FOR ME. GOD IS WORKING IN THIS AREA OF MY LIFE.

On the other hand…

A man who Lives by faith Accepts who God says He is and believes it. DOES what God has called him to do and trusts HIM for the results. Knows he is not worthy of the calling and is always thankful for God’s undeserving grace.

Who are you today? A prideful man, or one who lives by faith?

I struggle with this everyday and was not really aware of it. So glad God pointed this out today. Let me ask you a question.

Are you allowing God to work in your life?

one more.

Are you comfortable? Or are you allowing God to show you how to live by faith?

If not.
Then i would say you are playing for the prideful-man team.

I know I play for that team often.

Today I learned that my pride keeps me from walking by faith.

May God show you today what is it that’s keeping you from walking by faith and fully trusting Him.

Leave a Reply

