The Heart of a Missionary-


My meeting with Jesus

Posted in Support Raising by misspicture on June 3, 2010

I had two appointments yesterday.

They went GREAT!

Because i was a little nervous to talk to the people i was going to meet with I decided to leave my apartment a little earlier and go to a cafe nearby and just have a meeting with Jesus first.

So i sat down with Jesus with a cup of coffee [a really ugly one, btw. I miss Starbucks] and His word. I meditated on Psalm 63. And it is kind of funny how that psalm doesnt say anything about fear or insecurities. It is really not the kind of piece of scripture you would go to when you are scared or insecure. But i started reading it anyways… Mostly because i have it almost-all highlighted on my Bible and my eyes just went straight to that page.

This passage reveals David’s heart for God. This man was in love. Enamorado. Tombe amoureux

Look what he says in verse 6

On my bed I remember you;
I think of you through the watches of the night.

I do this when i have a crush on someone. I lay on my bed and think about them for….hours.

In verse 1 he said this

O God, you are my God,
earnestly I seek you;
my soul thirsts for you,
my body longs for you,
in a dry and weary land
where there is no water.

David sough God. Daily. Several times a day probably. And He was in love. I know I already said that! But reading this meant a LOT to me yesterday. Specially in the middle of all my doubts and fears.

Because, you know what?

There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love. 1 John 4:18

And that was exactly what i needed yesterday.

[Yes, i took this picture]

I often forget that the only thing i should focus on is Jesus. I need to fall head-over-heels in love with Jesus, and day dream about Him, lay on my bed and think about Him and about how much He loves me.

I want to fall in love with Jesus.

I need to fall in love with Jesus-

This process is not about the money, it is not about Africa, it is not about my ministry partners, it is not about working hard, it is not about my team, it is not about me.

It is all about Jesus.

3 Responses to 'My meeting with Jesus'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'My meeting with Jesus'.

  1. oscar said,

    Read it and I loved it.
    The more close you get with Jesus, The more close you are of understanding the power of his smile.
    yes, his smile… and you know me, this is not a random piece of information. There is a secret behind the smile of Jesus you have to meditate about this, But don’t beleved in what I said. Ask him, ask him really hard and you will know what I mean.

    btw, I’m still oweing(?) you 20 bucks… Do you want me to transfer the money???

  2. A Roommate Pequena said,

    So true! Thanks so much for sharing, I love hearing your heart and how much he is teaching you and I similar things right now!! Keep your eyes fixed on Him, the Giver of every good gift and He will honor that 🙂 Matthew 7:11


  3. Rock it! Jesus is the focus fo sho!


Leave a Reply

