The Heart of a Missionary-


Selfish: To Be or Not To Be……??

Posted in Insights by misspicture on December 12, 2009
Tags: , , ,

This is the big question i am struggling with right now.

You know the answer
I know the answer

But… It is HARD mostly because my flesh is lauder than my spirit.

There are many situations in my life right now. Where i am constantly being tempted to be selfish and to focus on my wants and my needs. It is so easy to get lost in what makes me feel uncomfortable an what makes me mad. But what about others? what about those i say i love?

If i focus on myself. Is it real love? or is it selfish love?
WAIT. Can the words love and selfish be in the same sentence?

I dont think so.

Love is all about giving.

Loving someone means you put them first. It means biting your thong  when you dont have anything good to say. It means listening even when you want them to shut up so you can speak. It means waiting. It means patience. And it means forever

Yes! Forever.

What am i learning?

Easy! Ok, ok…. its not that easy.
But God is teaching me how to die to myself and put others first. I am painfully learning to protect the ones i love from my selfishness. Once again… It is not about me.

Living a life like Jesus’ is not an easy job. But it is worth it. And i love the fact that everything happens for a reason. And i am constantly learning how to be the woman He created me to be.

I love you Jesus. Thank you for your selfless love.

What about you?

Have you been a selfish little brat this week?

2 Responses to 'Selfish: To Be or Not To Be……??'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Selfish: To Be or Not To Be……??'.


  1. He is teaching me the same thing. I am also trying to figure out what NT life is like; and I feel all of it is anchored around love, ya know. As far as being selfish, yes. I’m not sure how, but I am sure I have been-that’s just human marcus.

    • misspicture said,

      It’s all about love my friend and selflessness. yeah..


Leave a Reply

